Little Rock National Cemetery

The Little Rock National Cemetery is a 31.7 acre historic burial ground that has around 26,000 interments. The surrounding area of this cemetery is a previous Union encampment that was created in 1866 to serve as a union soldier burial ground. This land was credited as a National Cemetery in 1868, and a Confederate cemetery equaling out to 11 additional acres was created in 1884. The Southwest corner of this cemetery holds the main entrance with a double iron gate and informational plaques to start out your somber walk through history. The Little Rock National Cemetery also does not accept new interments, making it solely a historically used location.

Once here your group will see two main monuments, one built in 1884 for the Confederate soldiers, a large squat marble obelisk atop a 2-part base. The next is the Minnesota Monument, dedicated to 36 Union soldiers and measuring up to a 16-foot tall bronze sculpture, the soldier depicted bowing his head with his cap on his heart. The eastern half of the cemetery is the oldest half, the area in which you will see two of the most important burials in the whole cemetery. Maurice Britt, the only Medal of Honor winner in the area, and W.W. Carloss, the first lieutenant of the confederate army are found here. Be sure to be respectful to the fallen men and women's families while here, and peacefully enjoy this truly historical resting place.